BCCI has announced Team India for the T20 World Cup. The Indian squad was selected at a meeting of the selection committee headed by chief selector Chetan Sharma in Mumbai on Wednesday. The T20 World Cup will be played in Oman and UAE from October 17. Its final will be on November 14.

    The Indian team will start its Super 12 phase with a match against arch-rivals Pakistan on October 24.

    List of 15 Indian Players for T-20 Worldcup 2021:

    1. Viral Kohli (C)
    2. Rohit Sharma (VC)
    3. KL Rahul
    4. Surya Kumar Yadav
    5. Rishabh Pant (WC)
    6. Ishan Kishan (WC)
    7. Hardik Pandya
    8. Ravindra Jadeja
    9. Rahul Chahar
    10. RaviChandran Ashwin
    11. Axar Patel
    12. Varun Chakraborty
    13. Jasprit Bumrah
    14. Bhubneshwar Kumar
    15. Mohammad Shami

    Standby Indian Players for T20 World 2021:

    • Shreyas Iyer
    • Shardul Thakur
    • Deepak Chahar

    Eight qualifying teams will participate in the first round of the tournament. Four of these teams will reach the Super 12 round. Eight teams in the preliminary round include Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman and Papua New Guinea.

    In the T20 World Cup, India has been placed in Group-2 of Super 12 along with Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan. At the same time, the current champions in Group-1 are West Indies, England, Australia and South Africa. From the qualifying round, two teams each from each group will join these two groups.

    According to secretary Jayshah, ‘Former India captain MS Dhoni will guide the team for the T20 World Cup.’

    The upcoming tournament will be the first T20 World Cup after 2016. The last time West Indies won the title by defeating England. India defeated Pakistan by 6 wickets in the group match of Super-10. In the semi-final, India had to face defeat at the hands of Windies by 7 wickets.


    Group – 1



    South Africa

    West Indies

    Round 1 Group A winner

    Round 1 Group B runner-up




    New Zealand


    Round 1 Group B winner

    Round 1 Group A runner-up

    Final and Semi final Dates of T20 World Cup 2021:

    The first semi-final of the T20 World Cup 2021 will be played in Abu Dhabi on November 10. On November 11, the second semi-final will be played in Dubai. Both are reserve days for the semi-finals. The final will be played in Dubai on Sunday 14 November. 15 November has been kept as Reserve Day. The matches will be played from 7.30 pm Indian time.